Reviews and testimonials

Your widget will appear here.

5 star cottages, 4 star prices and reviews we're proud of ...

VisitEngland‘s assessment criteria for holiday accommodation has five categories: bedrooms, bathrooms, breakfast, cleanliness and hospitality. The organisation awards EnjoyEngland star ratings to help you easily compare and choose accommodation. The VisitEngland unique Gold award recognises exceptional quality within a star rating, or for outperforming a star rating. Our cottages are reviewed every year to ensure we’re maintaining our standards.

We’re delighted that all of our cottages have achieved at least 4 Stars with a Gold Award by VisitEngland. And because we allocate cottages based on your group requirements, we don’t even charge extra for our 5 Star cottages. In fact (between you and Jean), the only thing that concerned our inspector was our pricing. He thinks it’s too low (don’t tell David!).

You don’t have to take our word for it though, read the reviews below to see the lovely things our guests say.

Gold awarded self-catering accommodation at Upper Rectory Farm Cottages in Leicestershire
Award winning holiday accommodation | Upper Rectory Farm Cottages

Reviews from guests and group bookings

What a lovely hidden gem, nestled away in the Leicestershire countryside.
The views and tranquillity surrounding the cottages are such a joy! Who knew Leicester was so close to such gorgeous countryside with National Forest walks on your doorstep. The cottage is extremely clean, cozy, and homely with all of the amenities required for a self-catering stay. This is my first trip post lockdown and I can wholeheartedly say that I felt very safe and secure!
I have no concerns about returning or recommending to others.

We had the pleasure of meeting the owner Jean in the evening as she was making her way back to her home. What a lovely lady! Her enthusiasm and caring attitude towards the guests came across. This is a wonderful place to escape the city life! Relax on the patio with a glass of wine watching the swallows and sunset- you might even see the buzzard! Thank you for a wonderful stay. 

I will most definitely be returning.

Katie, August 2020

Just wanted to tell you what a great time we had at Upper Rectory cottages. Everything is so well provided for. – Angela, March 2019

60th, birthday part. Just perfect, very comfortable. Attention to detail in cottages amazing. Loved it! – Hamiltons

Here for Vicki & Luke’s wedding at Norton Fields. Stunning location. We all loved the cottages at Upper Rectory – so cosy and warm – great atmosphere! – Roy family, October 2019

Fantastic views. Great place for family gathering with really good facilities. – Alister and Diane Woodward, August 2019

Beautiful accommodation – so peaceful. Lovely views. Great for family get-togethers. – Miranda and Rob Consett, August 2019

Remarkable, superb, fantastic, I could run out of superlatives! Thank you so much Jean and team. – Marianne and Ray Blakely, Guernsey, September 2019

From the moment Jean met us with flapjack and milk to the moment we left, everything was perfect for a relaxing holiday. – Baker family, Bristol, November 2019

Wonderful cottages, amazing location. – Rob and Julie Dewman, December 2019

We had a lovely time during our stay with all our family together for Christmas. – December 2019

What a wonderful venue for Christmas with friends. – May and Ernie, December 2019

We have had a lovely time here. – Jollydays Holidays, March 2020

Ideal place for a family weekend together. – The Sawyer family, March 2019

This was a fantastic place for a family weekend. We had The Byre, The Cowshed and The Piggery for 2 gatherings of 15. Everything was just perfect. Jean was most welcoming and the flapjacks went down a treat! – Gloria and family, March 2019

Perfect for a family get-together. Great location, lots to do. – The Turnbulls, April 2019

Loved the peace and quiet – and the sunsets! We have all had the best time. Perfect base for “Thomas Land”! – The O’Donnell family, July 2019

This is our 7th year at “Jean’s Farm”! Amazing time yet again! – The Johnsons, July 2019

Quiet comfortable bliss! – Ann & Richard, September 2019

Wonderful place to celebrate my brother’s Golden Wedding. We were able to have all the family including 9 grandchildren and 6 great-grandchildren – usually difficult to arrange but perfect here. – J. Thompson, September 2019

An enjoyable but all too short stay in lovely and peaceful surroundings. Excellent standard of accommodation. Much appreciated. – The Hutchinson family, November 2019

I’ve been to the best place and it’s here! – Katie, aged 4, January 2019

Time stood still for a while … I have thoroughly enjoyed this week. – Catherine Crawford, North Carolina, USA, May 2019

Our quizzillionth visit and always hugely anticipated and enjoyed! Fab, Fab! – The Edmonds family, May 2019

Wonderful break, home from home. – Shanks family, July 2019

Excellent week here. The canal towpath is the perfect place to walk and see wildlife and pretty scenery. – Ruth & Philip Taylor, August 2019

We came for a clan-gathering/birthday celebration. Fantastic that 40 people could play and eat together! Facilities top rate and setting so peaceful. – Sally and Patrick, Montreal, Canada, 2019

Many thanks from 43 people including children and babies. We travelled from all over England and Wales for our Golden Wedding Anniversary. – The Maddisons, September 2019

Wonderful stay for the wedding at Norton Fields! – Mr & Mrs Dodd, May 2019

Great location and accommodation for a large family party. We had a fantastic weekend and can thoroughly recommend Upper Rectory Farm! – Thomson’s, September 2019

The cottage is a very cosy and lovely place to stay. – Lisa, August 2019

Wow! What a place! There were 27 of us here! Amazing cottages, so well equipped. The place is gorgeous and we had a fabulous time. – Carmel, July 2019

The cottage is lovely – everything we needed. – The Rundletts, August 2019

Visitor emails

We love to stay in touch with previous guests. Here are some of the emails we have received.

“Hi Jean,Just a quick message to say thank you for what was a fantastic and thoroughly enjoyable stay at Upper Rectory. The setting and the cottages are truly amazing and we all loved every minute of our stay - so much so my daughter wanted to stay on and live there!! The standard of the decor and all the equipment you provide are first class we did not want for anything. The thing we ALL commented on was how SPOTLESS the cottages were -please do thank Tina she did a great job. We cannot wait to return so thank you once again!”

Richard and family.

"Last weekend stay at your farm accommodation for my wife's 60th birthday was magical. The complex we booked was better than we had expected allowing our friends comfortable self-contained areas but allowing freedom to use all rooms downstairs and facilities. The Refectory was the icing on the cake to allow all 17 of us to have breakfast, lunch and to have a party on Saturday to celebrate Julie’s 60th and retirement. With the weather so nice we used the outside seating and grassy area to its fullest. The bonus was all the wildlife , especially the swallows which fascinated all of us watching them fly in and out of their nest nr the Refectory. Julie and me will remember this weekend for years to come .Thank you.”

Andrew and Julie.

“I just wanted to let you know how pleased we were with our accommodation at Upper Rectory Farm Cottages. A definite 10 out of 10 from all our family, we had a lovely time and the weather was superb too. It’s the perfect place for a family get together for us, travelling from London , Manchester and Wolverhampton and meeting in the middle so conveniently. Looking forward to further stays at your cottages.”

Joe Johnson

“We had a really fabulous time during our stay with you. We had things to do to fill our days, but we were always happy to arrive “home” to Upper Rectory. Our house was so comfortable and really attractive, my idea of a country home. We hardly saw the neighbours, and even when they were around we didn’t feel they were on top of us. We have been singing your praises to everyone. I can honestly say I have never felt so relaxed after a week away, whether in the UK or abroad. Thank you so much. Hope to see you next year.”

Nick

“Can’t stop coming back! Enjoyed our first week in The Cowshed and this last week in The Barn.”

Kevin & Sam, Australia.

“Many, many thanks for the use of Upper Rectory Farm Cottages. I cannot praise the venue too highly. Everyone agreed. So much so that we would like to come again in September 2021.”

Richard

“Thankyou Jean, Our stay at the Piggery was outstanding. From your warm welcome and flapjacks on arrival to the outstanding peaceful views over the fields, we couldn't have wished for a better holiday. The cottage was magnificent, everything you could need and more. Especially enjoyed our walks around the area and can highly recommend the local butcher, lovely person and great service.”

Jane. NSW, Australia

Comments from our Corporate clients

“Excellent stay at the Upper Rectory Farm Cottages. The accommodation was to a very high standard and the meeting room facilities fitted our needs perfectly. Also a great location centrally placed in the country, easy to get to for a widely dispersed team. I would highly recommend these cottages for a corporate team stay.”
Christina Hardiman
National Account Manager, Mars Food UK
“Just wanted to drop you a note to say how well the venue worked for our team event.  The quality of the accommodation was excellent and the kitchen so well equipped.  Thank you again, it is a fantastic environment for a team building event & will highly recommend to others.”
Sue
Birds Eye Limited, Birds Eye Ltd
“The team were delighted with their meeting at your lovely venue. They are already talking about having another meeting there. They found it perfect for the relaxed ambiance they were seeking.”
Carole Williams
Market Access & EB Administrator, UCB Pharma Ltd
“We have used Upper Rectory Farm Cottages for our off-site business meetings for some years now. The flexible, well appointed accommodation makes for the perfect environment to get people out of the office - we’ve made many of our best decisions there. I’d recommend them to anyone, nothing is too much trouble for the hosts and it’s a great location for people travelling from all over the country.”
Ben Stables
Operations Manager, BUPA
“The venue was ideal for our needs, we had a large meeting room where we could all work together, and as we had separate accommodation it felt like a home-from-home in the evenings. A great place to stay for our corporate retreat – I’m sure we’ll return soon!”
Karl Parry
Operations Manager, Bright Carbon

Covid-19 Update

Good To Go England

We hope all our guests are staying safe and well during this difficult time.

We’ve recently re-opened our cottages and very much look forward to you returning.

We have completed our risk assessments and are following government guidelines to enable us to open safely. We are taking bookings with full refunds should your visit not be able to take place due to coronavirus.

For more information on our precautions implemented, booking your stay, or what to expect when you arrive, please read our Covid-19 advice or contact Jean on 01827 880448 or info@upperrectoryfarmcottages.co.uk.

Stay safe all and we look forward to seeing you soon, 

Jean and David